Knowing God

By J. I. Packer

... Show All

Format: Hardcover w/ Jacket

Retail Price: $32.99

Availability: Forthcoming

Expected: Mar 7, 2023

Knowing God

By J. I. Packer

... Show All

J. I. Packer’s Bestselling Book, Knowing God, Now Available in a Beautiful Hardcover Edition

Knowing God by J. I. Packer is a modern Christian classic. Since its original publication in 1973, Packer’s insightful and practical approach has impacted countless Christians throughout the world as they are introduced to the wonder and joy of knowing God. 

In this beloved work, Packer challenges readers that while they may know about God, it is not the same thing as knowing him. Organized into 3 sections, Knowing God explains the importance of theological study of the Lord, what the Bible has to say about God and his character, and the benefits of knowing him. From cover to cover, Packer teaches that each truth learned about God should ultimately lead to prayer and praise.

  • Accessible: Written for Christians of all backgrounds and denominations, as well as new believers
  • Practical and Insightful: Addresses many common questions about faith, including Who needs theology?What does it mean to be adopted into the family of God?, and Can God communicate his plan to us? 
  • Beautiful Hardcover Edition: Perfect for a lifetime of reading and for giving as a gift
  • Written by Bestselling Author J. I. Packer: His other books include Growing in ChristA Quest for GodlinessRediscovering Holiness; and more


J. I. Packer

J. I. Packer (1926–2020) served as the Board of Governors’ Professor of Theology at Regent College. He authored numerous books, including the classic bestseller Knowing God. Packer also served as general editor for the English Standard Version Bible and as theological editor for the ESV Study Bible.

Product Details

Format: Hardcover w/ Jacket
Page Count: 304
Size: 5.5 in x 8.5 in
ISBN-10: 1-4335-8726-2
ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-8726-9
ISBN-UPC: 9781433587269
Case Quantity: 10
Published: March 07, 2023

Table of Contents

Part One: Know the Lord
Chapter 1: The Study of God
Chapter 2: The People Who Know Their God 
Chapter 3: Knowing and Being Known 
Chapter 4: The Only True God
Chapter 5: God Incarnate 
Chapter 6: He Shall Testify

Part Two: Behold Your God! 
Chapter 7: God Unchanging 
Chapter 8: The Majesty of God 
Chapter 9: God Only Wise 
Chapter 10: God’s Wisdom and Ours
Chapter 11: Thy Word Is Truth
Chapter 12: The Love of God
Chapter 13: The Grace of God
Chapter 14: God the Judge
Chapter 15: The Wrath of God
Chapter 16: Goodness and Severity
Chapter 17: The Jealous God 

Part Three: If God Be for Us . . . 
Chapter 18: The Heart of the Gospel
Chapter 19: Sons of God
Chapter 20: Thou Our Guide
Chapter 21: These Inward Trials
Chapter 22: The Adequacy of God