Why Should We Love the Local Church?

By Dustin Benge

... Show All


Crossway+ members receive 30% off books. Learn more.

Retail Price: $7.99

Availability: Forthcoming

Expected: Feb 22, 2022

Why Should We Love the Local Church?

By Dustin Benge

... Show All

Awakening Affection for the Beauty of God’s Church

Dear. Precious. Lovely. The Bible describes the church in extraordinary ways, even using beautiful poetry and metaphors. How does this compare to how Christians today describe the church? Unfortunately, many believers focus more on its mission, structure, or specific programs than on its inherent beauty. It’s time to spark a renewed affection for the church.

In this concise version of The Loveliest Place, Dustin Benge urges Christians to see the holy assembly of God’s redeemed people in all its eternal beauty. He explains what makes the church lovely, including the Trinitarian relationship, worship, service, and gospel proclamation. For those who have never learned to view the church as God sees it, or have become disillusioned by its flaws, this book is a reminder that the corporate gathering of believers is a reflection of God’s indescribable beauty.

This book is part of the Union series, which invites readers to experience deeper enjoyment of God through four interconnected values: delighting in God, growing in Christ, serving the church, and blessing the world.


Dustin Benge

Dustin Benge (PhD, The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary) is provost and lecturer in church history at Union School of Theology, Bridgend and Oxford, United Kingdom. He and his wife, Molli, live in Porthcawl, Wales.

Product Details

Format: Paperback
Page Count: 96
Size: 5.0 in x 7.0 in
Weight: 6.0 ounces
ISBN-10: 1-4335-7498-5
ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-7498-6
ISBN-UPC: 9781433574986
Case Quantity: 10
Published: February 22, 2022

Table of Contents

Series Preface

Chapter 1: You Are Beautiful
Chapter 2: The Household of God
Chapter 3: Our Father and Friend
Chapter 4: Our Savior and Head
Chapter 5: Our Helper and Beautifier
Chapter 6: A Pillar and Buttress of Truth
Chapter 7: In Spirit and Truth  
Chapter 8: Shepherding the Flock
Chapter 9: Feeding the Flock
Chapter 10: Good News
Chapter 11: In Remembrance
Chapter 12: Walking Worthy
Chapter 13: Blessed Persecution
Chapter 14: We Are One

Scripture Index