Deeper: Real Change for Real Sinners

By Dane C. Ortlund

... Show All


Crossway+ members receive 30% off books. Learn more.

Retail Price: $19.99

Availability: Forthcoming

Expected: Sep 14, 2021

Deeper: Real Change for Real Sinners

By Dane C. Ortlund

... Show All

Experience Real Change through Dependence on Christ

The Christian life is defined by growth. Few question the call of the Bible to grow in godliness, but the answer to exactly how this happens is often elusive.

In his newest book, Deeper, pastor and author Dane Ortlund takes Christians into the deep structures of biblical teaching on how they grow in grace—most fundamentally, by enjoying all that is already theirs in Christ. Ortlund brings believers into the fullness of Christ, the emptiness of self-reliance, and their need for union and communion with God. This book makes the case that a believer’s sanctification does not happen by doing more or becoming better, but by going deeper into the wondrous gospel truths that washed over them when they were first united to Christ. Each of its 9 chapters encourages readers to fix their gaze on Jesus in the battle against sin, casting themselves upon his grace.

Also available as a concise version: How Does God Change Us?


Dane C. Ortlund

Dane C. Ortlund (PhD, Wheaton College) serves as senior pastor of Naperville Presbyterian Church in Naperville, Illinois. He is the author of Gentle and Lowly: The Heart of Christ for Sinners and Sufferers and Deeper: Real Change for Real Sinners. Dane and his wife, Stacey, have five children.

Product Details

Format: Hardcover w/ Jacket
Page Count: 192
Size: 5.5 in x 8.5 in
Weight: 16.0 ounces
ISBN-10: 1-4335-7399-7
ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-7399-6
ISBN-UPC: 9781433573996
Case Quantity: 10
Published: September 14, 2021

Table of Contents


Chapter 1: Jesus              
Chapter 2: Despair           
Chapter 3: Union             
Chapter 4: Embrace         
Chapter 5: Acquittal         
Chapter 6: Honesty
Chapter 7: Pain                
Chapter 8: Breathing                             
Chapter 9: Supernaturalized