The Sermon on the Mount: The Message of the Kingdom

ESV Edition

By R. Kent Hughes

... Show All

The three chapters of Matthew known as the Sermon on the Mount contain truths so rich and powerful that even a lifetime of study could not exhaust their depths. For centuries, Jesus’s majestic portrait of the kingdom of heaven and his unparalleled instructions for godliness have captivated Christians and non-Christians alike. In this classic commentary, now revised with a fresh look and ESV Bible references, seasoned pastor R. Kent Hughes guides readers through this glorious portion of the Bible with exegetical precision, expositional clarity, and practical sensitivity. Whether used by preachers, small group leaders, or individual laypersons, this resource will prove invaluable for illuminating the Sermon on the Mount’s enduring power to enliven hearts and transform minds.

Part of the Preaching the Word series.


R. Kent Hughes

R. Kent Hughes (DMin, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School) is senior pastor emeritus of College Church in Wheaton, Illinois, and former professor of practical theology at Westminster Theological Seminary in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Hughes is also a founder of the Charles Simeon Trust, which conducts expository preaching conferences throughout North America and worldwide. He serves as the series editor for the Preaching the Word commentary series and is the author or coauthor of many books. He and his wife, Barbara, live in Spokane, Washington, and have four children and an ever-increasing number of grandchildren.

Product Details

Category: Commentaries & Reference
Format: Hardcover w/ Jacket
Page Count: 304
Size: 6.0 in x 9.0 in
Weight: 21.45 ounces
ISBN-10: 1-4335-3621-8
ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-3621-2
ISBN-UPC: 9781433536212
Case Quantity: 24
Published: April 30, 2013

Table of Contents

1.  The Riches of Poverty (5:1–3)
2.  The Comfort of Mourning (5:4)
3.  The Strength of Gentleness (5:5)
4.  The Fullness of Hunger (5:6)
5.  The Dividend of Mercy (5:7)
6.  The Reward of Purity (5:8)
7.  The Paternity of Peace (5:9)
8.  The Joy of Persecution (5:10–12)
9.  “The Salt of the Earth” (5:13)
10. “The Light of the World” (5:14–16)
11. Jesus on Righteousness (5:17–20)
12. A Righteous Person’s Relationships (5:21–26)
13. Radical Purity (5:27–30)
14. Jesus’ Teaching on Divorce (5:31–32)
15. Radical Truthfulness (5:33–37)
16. Wrongs and Rights (5:38–42)
17. Superseding Love (5:43–48)
18. Christianity without Hypocrisy (6:1–8)
19. The Lord’s Prayer: The Father (6:9)
20. The Lord’s Prayer: The Name (6:9)
21. “Your Kingdom Come” (6:10a)
22. “Your Will Be Done” (6:10b)
23. The Lord’s Prayer: The Bread (6:11)
24. The Lord’s Prayer: Forgiveness (6:12)
25. The Lord’s Prayer: Temptation (6:13)
26. The Lord’s Prayer: Glory (6:13)
27. Lasting Treasure (6:19–21)
28. Unclouded Vision (6:22–24)
29. “Do Not Be Anxious…But Seek First” (6:25–34)
30. The Speck and the Log (7:1–5)
31. “Seek, and You Will Find” (7:7–11)
32. The Two Roads (7:13, 14)
33. Discerning False Preachers (7:15–20)
34. Entering the Kingdom (7:21–29)
35. The Sermon on the Move (8:1–3)