Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi: A 12-Week Study

By Stephen M. Coleman, General Editor J. I. Packer, Series edited by Dane Ortlund, Lane T. Dennis

... Show All

The Knowing the Bible series is a resource designed to help Bible readers better understand and apply God’s Word. These 12-week studies lead participants through books of the Bible and are made up of four basic components: (1) reflection questions help readers engage the text at a deeper level; (2) “Gospel Glimpses” highlight the gospel of grace throughout the book; (3) “Whole-Bible Connections” show how any given passage connects to the Bible’s overarching story of redemption, culminating in Christ; and (4) “Theological Soundings” identify how historic orthodox doctrines are taught or reinforced throughout Scripture. With contributions from an array of influential pastors and church leaders, these gospel-centered studies will help Christians see and cherish the message of God’s grace on every page of the Bible.

The books of Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi contain messages to God’s people who, after experiencing deliverance from exile, still struggled with doubt, discouragement, and despair in the Promised Land. The prophets called them to faith as they awaited an even greater deliverance yet to come.

Through this 12-week study, readers will see the faithfulness of God as he restores his presence among his people through the temple—a foretaste of the promised Messiah, who is the true temple and ultimate fulfillment of God’s promises.

Part of the Knowing the Bible series.


Stephen M. Coleman

Stephen M. Coleman (PhD, The Catholic University of America) is an ordained teaching elder in the Presbyterian Church in America. He holds the Stephen Tong Chair of Reformed Theology at Westminster Theological Seminary in Philadelphia, where he also serves as the dean of biblical and theological studies and as associate professor of Old Testament and biblical languages. He is the editor in chief of Unio cum Christo: International Journal of Reformed Theology and Life and coeditor of the Westminster Theological Journal.

Product Details

Category: Bible Studies & Devotionals
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 96
Size: 6.0 in x 9.0 in
Weight: 6.16 ounces
ISBN-10: 1-4335-5733-9
ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-5733-0
ISBN-UPC: 9781433557330
Case Quantity: 108
Published: June 30, 2018

Table of Contents

Series Preface: J. I. Packer and Lane T. Dennis Week 1: Overview
Week 2: The Time Is Now (Haggai 1:1–15a)
Week 3: God’s Promise of a Glorious Future (Haggai 1:15b–2:23)
Week 4: Glory in Her Midst (Zechariah 1:1–2:13)
Week 5: A Purified Priest and a Faithful King (Zechariah 3:1–4:14)
Week 6: God’s Triumph over Sin (Zechariah 5:1–6:15)
Week 7: From Fasting to Feasting (Zechariah 7:1–8:23)
Week 8: The King Is Coming (Zechariah 9:1–11:17)
Week 9: The Day of the Lord (Zechariah 12:1–14:21)
Week 10: Forgetting God’s Love (Malachi 1:1–2:16)
Week 11: The Coming Day of the Lord (Malachi 2:17–4:6)
Week 12: Summary and Conclusion