The Sermon on the Mount: A 12-Week Study

By Drew Hunter, Series edited by Douglas Sean O'Donnell

... Show All

Engaging 12-Week Study Helps Readers Better Understand and Apply God’s Word

The Knowing the Bible series is a resource designed to help Bible readers better understand and apply God’s Word. These 12-week studies lead participants through books of the Bible and are made up of four basic components: (1) reflection questions help readers engage the text at a deeper level; (2) “Gospel Glimpses” highlight the gospel of grace throughout the book; (3) “Whole-Bible Connections” show how any given passage connects to the Bible’s overarching story of redemption, culminating in Christ; and (4) “Theological Soundings” identify how historic orthodox doctrines are taught or reinforced throughout Scripture.

In The Sermon on the Mount, Drew Hunter examines the biblical event that led to some of Jesus’s most well-known statements, including the Beatitudes. Guiding readers through Matthew 5–7 passage by passage, this guide demonstrates that the Sermon the Mount is not a disorganized collection of sayings, but a series of naturally progressing sections.  

  • Helpful Bible Study Resource: Features date and historical background, theological context for the Bible passage, “Whole-Bible Connections,” compelling reflection questions, and more
  • In-Depth: Ties the biblical text in with the whole story of Scripture, shows how each passage unveils the gospel, and illuminates the doctrines taught in each passage
  • Part of the Knowing the Bible Series: With contributions from an array of influential pastors and church leaders, these gospel-centered studies help Christians see and cherish the message of God’s grace on every page of the Bible


Drew Hunter

Drew Hunter (MA, Wheaton College) is the teaching pastor at Zionsville Fellowship in Zionsville, Indiana. He is the author of Made for Friendship and the Isaiah and Matthew volumes in the Knowing the Bible series. Drew and his wife, Christina, live in Zionsville, Indiana, and have four children.

Product Details

Format: Paperback
Page Count: 96
Size: 6.0 in x 9.0 in
Weight: 5.0 ounces
ISBN-10: 1-4335-8940-0
ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-8940-9
ISBN-UPC: 9781433589409
Case Quantity: 10
Published: August 17, 2023

Table of Contents

Week 1: Overview
Week 2: Beatitudes: An Invitation to True Flourishing
(Matthew 5:1–12)
Week 3: Faithful Witness and the Fulfillment of Scripture
(Matthew 5:13–20)
Week 4: True Righteousness 1: Anger and Lust
(Matthew 5:21–30)
Week 5: True Righteousness 2: Divorce and Oaths
(Matthew 5:31–37)
Week 6: True Righteousness 3: Retaliation and Love
(Matthew 5:38–48)
Week 7: A Godward Life
(Matthew 6:1–8)
Week 8: A Model for Prayer
(Matthew 6:9–18)
Week 9: Replacing Greed and Anxiety with Generosity and Faith
(Matthew 6:19–34)
Week 10: A New Vision for Relationships
(Matthew 7:1–12)
Week 11: Two Ways and Two Trees
(Matthew 7:13–20)
Week 12: A Call to Decisiveness: Two Destinies and Two Foundations
(Matthew 7:21–29)