Due to the Thanksgiving Holiday, orders will not be processed until November 30th.

1–2 Kings: A 12-Week Study

By Gavin Ortlund, General Editor J. I. Packer, Series edited by Dane C. Ortlund, Lane T. Dennis

... Show All

The Knowing the Bible series is a resource designed to help Bible readers better understand and apply God’s Word. These 12-week studies lead participants through books of the Bible and are made up of four basic components: (1) reflection questions help readers engage the text at a deeper level; (2) “Gospel Glimpses” highlight the gospel of grace throughout the book; (3) “Whole-Bible Connections” show how any given passage connects to the Bible’s overarching story of redemption, culminating in Christ; and (4) “Theological Soundings” identify how historic orthodox doctrines are taught or reinforced throughout Scripture. With contributions from an array of influential pastors and church leaders, these gospel-centered studies will help Christians see and cherish the message of God’s grace on every page of the Bible.

The books of 1–2 Kings describe the period of monarchy in ancient Israel, highlighting a clear contrast between the covenant-keeping God and the covenantbreaking people of Israel.

Walking readers through these two books, this 12-week study guide helps us see God’s mercy and grace as he offers blessings instead of curses to his people in response to their disobedience—pointing forward to the faithfulness of the Redeemer yet to come.

Part of the Knowing the Bible series.


Gavin Ortlund

Gavin Ortlund (PhD, Fuller Theological Seminary) serves as senior pastor of First Baptist Church of Ojai in Ojai, California. He is the author of Anselm's Pursuit of Joy and Retrieving Augustine's Doctrine of Creation.

Product Details

Category: Bible Studies & Devotionals
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 96
Size: 6.0 in x 9.0 in
Weight: 5.85 ounces
ISBN-10: 1-4335-5370-8
ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-5370-7
ISBN-UPC: 9781433553707
Case Quantity: 10
Published: March 31, 2017

Table of Contents

Series Preface: J. I. Packer and Lane T. Dennis

Week 1: Overview
Week 2: The Wealth and Wisdom of Solomon (1 Kings 1:1–4:34)
Week 3: The Temple: God's Presence among His People (1 Kings 5:1–10:29)
Week 4: Disobedience, Division, Decline (1 Kings 11:1–16:34)
Week 5: Elijah and Covenant Renewal (1 Kings 17:1–19:21)
Week 6: Ahab's Death and Elijah's Departure (1 Kings 20:1–2 Kings 2:25)
Week 7: Elisha and the Prophetic Word (2 Kings 3:1–8:6)
Week 8: Jehu and Jehoash: Judgment and Reform (2 Kings 8:7–12:21)
Week 9: The Decline and Fall of the Northern Kingdom (2 Kings 13:1–17:41)
Week 10: Deliverance under Hezekiah, and Further Decline (2 Kings 18:1–21:26)
Week 11: Reform under Josiah, and the Fall of the Southern Kingdom (2 Kings 22:1–25:30)
Week 12: Summary and Conclusion