The Ten Commandments: A 12-Week Study

By Michael LeFebvre, Series edited by Douglas Sean O'Donnell

... Show All

Engaging 12-Week Study Helps Readers Better Understand and Apply God’s Word

The Knowing the Bible series is a resource designed to help Bible readers better understand and apply God’s Word. These 12-week studies lead participants through books of the Bible and are made up of four basic components: (1) reflection questions help readers engage the text at a deeper level; (2) “Gospel Glimpses” highlight the gospel of grace throughout the book; (3) “Whole-Bible Connections” show how any given passage connects to the Bible’s overarching story of redemption, culminating in Christ; and (4) “Theological Soundings” identify how historic orthodox doctrines are taught or reinforced throughout Scripture.

In The Ten Commandments, Michael LeFebvre leads a deep, engaging study of the Decalogue, exploring the importance of God’s commandments in church history, the overarching story of the Bible, and daily discipleship. Over the course of 12 weeks, readers will explore the practical implications of the Ten Commandments and be encouraged by God’s grace to renounce sin and live out godly love.  

  • Helpful Bible Study Resource: Features date and historical background, theological context for the Bible passage, “Whole-Bible Connections,” compelling reflection questions, and more
  • In-Depth: Ties the biblical text in with the whole story of Scripture, shows how each passage unveils the gospel, and illuminates the doctrines taught in each passage
  • Part of the Knowing the Bible Series: With contributions from an array of influential pastors and church leaders, these gospel-centered studies help Christians see and cherish the message of God’s grace on every page of the Bible


Michael LeFebvre

Michael LeFebvre (PhD, University of Aberdeen) is the pastor of Christ Church Reformed Presbyterian in Brownsburg, Indiana, and an adjunct professor of Old Testament at Reformed Presbyterian Theological Seminary in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He serves as a fellow with the Center for Pastor Theologians. Michael and his wife, Heather, have five children and live in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Product Details

Format: Paperback
Page Count: 96
Size: 6.0 in x 9.0 in
Weight: 5.0 ounces
ISBN-10: 1-4335-8936-2
ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-8936-2
ISBN-UPC: 9781433589362
Case Quantity: 10
Published: August 17, 2023

Table of Contents

About the Editors
Series Preface: J. I. Packer and Lane T. Dennis
Week 1: Overview
Week 2: No Other Gods (Preface/Commandment 1)
Week 3: No Images (Commandment 2)
Week 4: Do Not Take God’s Name in Vain (Commandment 3)
Week 5: Remember the Sabbath Day (Commandment 4)
Week 6: Honor Parents (Commandment 5)
Week 7: Do Not Murder (Commandment 6)
Week 8: Do Not Commit Adultery (Commandment 7)
Week 9: Do Not Steal (Commandment 8)
Week 10: Do Not Bear False Witness (Commandment 9)
Week 11: Do Not Covet (Commandment 10)
Week 12: Summary and Conclusion