Jonah, Micah, and Nahum: A 12-Week Study

By Kristofer Holroyd, General Editor J. I. Packer, Series edited by Dane Ortlund, Lane T. Dennis

... Show All

The Knowing the Bible series is a resource designed to help Bible readers better understand and apply God’s Word. These 12-week studies lead participants through books of the Bible and are made up of four basic components: (1) reflection questions help readers engage the text at a deeper level; (2) “Gospel Glimpses” highlight the gospel of grace throughout the book; (3) “Whole-Bible Connections” show how any given passage connects to the Bible’s overarching story of redemption, culminating in Christ; and (4) “Theological Soundings” identify how historic orthodox doctrines are taught or reinforced throughout Scripture. With contributions from an array of influential pastors and church leaders, these gospel-centered studies will help Christians see and cherish the message of God’s grace on every page of the Bible.

The books of Jonah, Micah, and Nahum announce the judgment of God through his prophets—flawed messengers who nevertheless served as vehicles for God’s compassion, calling their hearers to repent of their evil, turn from their false gods, and worship the one true God.

Over the course of 12 weeks, this study helps readers see the steadfast love, mercy, and patience of the Lord, the deliverer and protector who offers forgiveness to all who turn from their sin and trust in him.

Read Chapter 1


Kristofer Holroyd

Kristofer Holroyd (PhD, Evangelische Theologische Faculteit, Leuven, Belgium) serves as senior pastor of Westminster Presbyterian Church in Muncie, Indiana.

Product Details

Category: Bible Studies & Devotionals
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 96
Size: 6.0 in x 9.0 in
Weight: 5.83 ounces
ISBN-10: 1-4335-5810-6
ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-5810-8
ISBN-UPC: 9781433558108
Case Quantity: 50
Published: October 31, 2018

Table of Contents

Series Preface: J. I. Packer and Lane T. Dennis
Week 1: Overview
Week 2: The Fear of the Lord (Jonah 1:1–2:10)
Week 3: Stubbornness and Repentance (Jonah 3:1–4:11)
Week 4: The Lord of Creation against His People (Micah 1:1–16)
Week 5: A Failure of Leadership (Micah 2:1–3:12)
Week 6: He Shall Be Their Peace (Micah 4:1–5:15)
Week 7: The Case against Israel (Micah 6:1–7:7)
Week 8: God’s Steadfast Love (Micah 7:8–20)
Week 9: The Divine Warrior (Nahum 1:1–15)
Week 10: Behold, I Am against You (Nahum 2:1–13)
Week 11: The Shame of Sin (Nahum 3:1–19)
Week 12: Summary and Conclusion