Deuteronomy: A 12-Week Study

By Matthew H. Patton, General Editor J. I. Packer, Series edited by Dane Ortlund, Lane T. Dennis

... Show All

The Knowing the Bible series is a resource designed to help Bible readers better understand and apply God’s Word. These 12-week studies lead participants through books of the Bible and are made up of four basic components: (1) reflection questions help readers engage the text at a deeper level; (2) “Gospel Glimpses” highlight the gospel of grace throughout the book; (3) “Whole-Bible Connections” show how any given passage connects to the Bible’s overarching story of redemption, culminating in Christ; and (4) “Theological Soundings” identify how historic orthodox doctrines are taught or reinforced throughout Scripture. With contributions from an array of influential pastors and church leaders, these gospel-centered studies will help Christians see and cherish the message of God’s grace on every page of the Bible.

The book of Deuteronomy contains the final words of Moses to the people of Israel as they await entrance to the Promised Land. Remembering God’s great deliverance from Egypt, Moses calls Israel to forsake their past faithlessness and love the Lord with all that they are.

This accessible study guide walks readers through this important biblical book, helping Christians understand that the only hope for obedience to God’s commands is the grace of God found in the person and work of Jesus Christ.

Part of the Knowing the Bible series.


Matthew H. Patton

Matthew H. Patton (PhD, Wheaton College) serves as pastor of Covenant Orthodox Presbyterian Church in Vandalia, Ohio. He is the author of Deuteronomy: A 12-Week Study.


Product Details

Category: Bible Studies & Devotionals
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 96
Size: 6.0 in x 9.0 in
Weight: 5.78 ounces
ISBN-10: 1-4335-5378-3
ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-5378-3
ISBN-UPC: 9781433553783
Case Quantity: 50
Published: March 31, 2017

Table of Contents

Series Preface: J. I. Packer and Lane T. Dennis 

Week 1: Overview
Week 2: The Sins of the Fathers and the Faithfulness of God (1:1–3:29)
Week 3: Who Is Like the Lord? (4:1–43)
Week 4: Love the Lord (4:44–6:9)
Week 5: Tests of Faith (6:10–8:20)
Week 6: A Land Given by Grace (9:1–11:32)
Week 7: Not Like the Nations (12:1–16:17)
Week 8: True Justice and Righteousness (16:18–21:9)
Week 9: All of Life (21:10–25:19)
Week 10: The Blessing and the Curse (26:1–29:1)
Week 11: The Future of Israel (29:2–31:29)
Week 12: Conclusion: The End of an Era (31:30–34:12)